Africa: Building community power to fight injustice: what legal empowerment strategies work?

Date: Thursday , October 27, 2022

Time: 12 noon WAT|11 AM DAKAR/CONAKRY/ACCRA |2 PM EAT|1PM SAST

Register here:Webinar Registration - Zoom

Hosted by the West Africa Legal Empowerment Network, this conversation shares stories of ongoing struggles and successes in working with communities in East and West Africa to fight systemic injustices. Panellists are drawn from Kenya, Benin, Senegal , Ghana and Nigeria to discuss ways in which they meaningfully centre communities in their work and how they use legal empowerment strategies to harness community power to address a wide range of injustices affecting the urban poor, rural communities and ethnic and religious minorities.

This event will be held virtually. There will be French and English interpretation

Moderator:

  • Amina Hanga - Isa Wali Empowerment Initiative, Nigeria

Panellists:

  • Messan Kounagbe & Jacqueline Houessou - Justice & Empowerment Initiatives, Benin
  • Thadee Seck- Natural Justice, Senegal
  • Evans Otibine - Akiba Mashinani Trust , Kenya
  • Daphne Lariba - Legal Resources Centre, Ghana
  • Aisha Khagai- NAMATI , Kenya

@AnnetteMbogoh @aishakhagai @SAppiahHonny @Timotistic12 @JaneWeru @daphne_nabila @hassansesay @poorvichitalkar @ashiqlaw @SadequeHussain

3 Likes