Feedback and Advice on the use of LIIs (Legal Information Institutes)

Hi all

I am new to the Global Legal Empowerment Network. I am the Director of PacLII - the Pacific Legal Information Institute. Our website is www.paclii.org PacLII is committed to making laws of the Pacific region freely and easily available to the public - when we started 20 years ago it was almost impossible to fund up to date laws in many Pacific countries.

We are part of the Free Access to Law Movement and all our data gets aggregated into WorldLII www.worldlii.org

I am posting this for 2 reasons - if anybody uses PacLII, or any of its corresponding LIIs globally, any feedback on what we could do better would be appreciated.

Second, PacLII has now got its core business of publishing laws to improve access into a good system. But - making laws available is not the same as meaningful access - providing the tools to help people to be able to understand and use the laws, now they have access to them. So the question becomes what an we be doing to “add value”. We have many ideas, a virtual community legal information centre, acting as a clearing house for legal literacy material, producing case summaries are the top 3 that we are pursuing at the moment. But, if people have experience of using LIIs and have any feedback on what sorts of services you think we can and should develop that would be very much appreciated.

General ideas as to how to use websites to build legal empowerment would be helpful (in Vanuatu there is a good uptake of facebook - so a website with facebook linked is something we are thinking of to allow for 2 way communication - but conversations need to be controlled, and we have to be careful to provide information, not give advice)

2 Likes

Hey Anita,

When I was a law student in Australia I would often use Austlii’s LawCite as I found it to be one of the most accessible and fast case search systems.