Role of Young Peace Builders in Building Peace in Cameroon

Getting into the fourth year, the North West and South west Regions of my country Cameroon has been experiencing violent clashes between the non state armed actors (Ambas) and the Government Regular soldiers. Matters escalated from a peace demonstration by Lawyers and Teachers which met stiff resistances resulting to radicalization by the Military.

This conflict has escalated with several youths being radicalized and many shot as a resukt of this conflict. Alot has been done by young peace Builders but many times their actions are misinterpreted hence they are flagged, targeted by whoever party who sees their work as a threat to their agenda. As a Young Peace Builder, I find the attacks directed to us because of our stance needs proper check and also the gross human right violations taking place in these two regions.

I open this topic for deliberation with other members on possible solutions and way forward within this context especially from members who have lived in such realities.

4 Likes

Dear Caryn, Thank you very much for sharing this story. Probably it is very difficult now in Cameroon. I think the only possible solution is negotiations and consultations between the affected parties and mutual compromises if possible. Alexandar

2 Likes

Thank you very much for your suggestion. There is a dire need for a solution. Mean while you can follow this link and read a pour out of my emotions on the issues affecting us.

3 Likes

This is such a sad update on Cameroon! These type of conflicts are tough to handle once they have escalated! I hope something is done very fast to save lives.

2 Likes

Caryn Dasah. Its sad issue and its sometimes difficult.Did u ever tried to involve independent third party? Please try this.

2 Likes

It is really sad to watch pictures like this. What are the reasons for this situation? I don’t know a lot about Cameroon.