Social problems

paralegals

(ROSE NOZIPHO GIDANA) #1

As a paralegal my job is very broad in all spheres in the Community regarding their Social problems as, illegal evictions and Estate on the property, Illegal Switched off of the in the Electricity in the household, domestic violence, and domestic workers basic rights, Women in prison to access the justice. Protecting the girls and boys rights as well etc the list it’s long.

(Tobias Eigen) #2

Hi Rose! Welcome to our community. It’s great to see you here. You are listing issues that many paralegals in this community face. Can you tell us a story about one in particular that has presented you with a challenge that you were able to overcome using a creative or innovative approach?

(Shadrack Olebogeng Lawrence) #3

@tobiaseigen We as paralegals in South Africa are not all well trained as we are supposed to, most of the paralegals are basically self taught on how to handle issues and to solve cases. its only now recently with the establishing of the Dullah Omar school for paralegals did “paralegals” start to get proper training as well as the intervention of the University of North West as well Black sash. we are sitting of a lot of unsolved cases all over the country especially in the province were a live the Northern Cape, i know because i am the provincial secretary of the Northern Cape its very tough because some people have no or just little resources to assist them with cases, in some instances you will find yourself fighting against some one or people that have a lot of money and resources and you just get nowhere and the people suffer a lot because most of the time government officials and private attorneys are involved and not forgetting the injustice of the justice system and corruption that plays a huge role in some of these cases.

(ROSE NOZIPHO GIDANA) #4

Dear colleague/s,

I wish to mybe respond in regard to the email send by Lawrence on" Paralegal with no training " mybe Yes or No.