Training Paralegals in Theater Education

Starting 2015 Namati Myanmar program will introduce theater education for community awareness raising activities for more attractive and effective ways of community education. The idea is local theater group to train paralegals from our program, then the paralegals will conduct theater education sessions in their local communities in collaboration with active members from the communities.

May I request colleagues who has theater program experiences to share with Myanmar team for better preparations of community theater education from paralegals to the communities.

6 Likes

Please keep us updated what you are doing, how it is going, etc. I am very interested in using theatre for legal education - so exciting!

Rachael

That’s great to hear, theater can be a really interesting and accessible way to teach legal rights. I have some experience with using theater to teach land rights within forced evictions in Cambodia and it was very useful there.

Some initial thoughts: You want to determine whether you want to create a performance that is to be watched by communities (with local artists and activists acting perhaps) or whether you have a more flexible, participatory method (more like a longer role play scenario). Making the theater for just viewing allows you to teach very specific points and have more control over the outcomes and scenarios, although creating a role play certainly gives participants more opportunities to learn the substance more through their own experience. We always preferred a role play as the learning is more extensive and retained better, but this depends on the objectives of the training.